Skip to main content
Foundation News

James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation Announces 2023 Fellows

The James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation of Alexandria, Virginia announced today that it has selected 50 James Madison Fellows for 2023 in its thirty-first annual fellowship competition. James Madison Fellowships support the graduate study of American history by aspiring and experienced secondary school teachers of American history, American government, and civics.

Named in honor of the fourth president of the United States and acknowledged as “Father of the Constitution and Bill of Rights,” a James Madison Fellowship funds up to $24,000 of each Fellow’s course of study towards a master’s degree. That program must include a concentration of courses on the history and principles of the United States Constitution.

The 50 James Madison Fellows were selected in competition with applicants from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the nation’s island and trust territories. The fellowships are funded by income from a trust fund in the Treasury of the United States and from additional private gifts, corporate contributions, and foundation grants. Recipients are required to teach American history, American government, or civics in a secondary school for at least one year for each year of fellowship support. The award is intended to recognize promising and distinguished teachers, to strengthen their knowledge of the origins and development of American constitutional government, and thus to expose the nation’s secondary school students to accurate knowledge of the nation’s constitutional heritage.

Founded by an Act of Congress in 1986, the James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation is an independent agency of the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Additional information may be found at

2023 James Madison Fellows

Current Teachers (Senior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and secondary school where they teach

AL Jaclyn Foster Tuscaloosa Academy; Tuscaloosa, AL
AK Jacob Tatum Betty Davis East Anchorage HS; Anchorage, AK
AZ Thomas Garrett Canyon View High School; Waddell, AZ
AR Jason Wells Virtual Arkansas; Plumerville, AR
CA Christine Greer Livermore High School; Livermore, CA
CA Bryan Shaw1 Ygnacio Valley High School; Concord, CA
CO Gabriela Perry Fort Collins High School; Fort Collins, CO
CT Nicole Verilli New Milford High School; New Milford, CT
DE Shae Parks Milford High School; Milford, DE
FL John Walsh Discovery Middle School; Orlando, FL
FL Meghan Barbour2 Mariner High School; Cape Coral, FL
GA Cynthia Kyle Mount Paran Christian School; Kennesaw, GA
ID Chelsey Zander Rigby Middle School; Rigby, ID
ID Macee Voss3 Treasure Valley Classical Academy; Fruitland, ID
IL Eli Pupovac Disney II Magnet High School; Chicago, IL
IN Adam Williamson Mississinewa High School; Gas City, IN
IA Katy Forsythe Norwalk Middle School; Norwalk, IA
KS Thomas Fulbright Hope Street Academy; Topeka, KS
KY Olivia Atkinson Presentation Academy; Louisville, KY
LA Mary Peterson David Thibodaux STEM Magnet Academy; Lafayette, LA
MA Matthew Lindsey Francis W. Parker Charter Essential School; Devens, MA
MI Sean Albert Henry Ford Academy; Dearborn, MI
MN Michael Marlin Sauk Rapids-Rice High School; Sauk Rapids, MN
MS Michele Rafach PRC Endeavor: Center for Alternative Education; Carriere, MS
MO Marcus McGuinn Hickman High School; Columbia, MO
MT        Amy Caldeira Laurel Middle School; Laurel, MT
NE Erika Lewis Papillion La Vista South High School; Pappillion, NE
NV Wendy Murillo Sunrise Mountain High School; Las Vegas, NV
NH Thomas Lundstedt Milford High School; Milford, NH
NJ Andrew W. Schrettner4 Eric S. Smith Middle School; Ramsey, NJ
NM Eliza Machtinger St. Pius X High School; Albuquerque, NM
NY Erin Kennedy Mamaroneck High School; Mamaroneck, NY
NC Justin Jones Concord High School; Concord, NC
ND Angela Kitzman Rolette Public School; Rolette. ND
OH Jordan Dettrow Van Wert High School; Van Wert,
OR Aurora Roth Sherwood High School; Sherwood, OR
RI Michael McNamara Ponaganset High School; Glocester, RI
SD Carrie Huber Stevens High School; Rapid City, SD
TN Will Kelley Kirby High School; Memphis, TN
TX Wendy Sierra East View High School; Georgetown, TX
UT Charlotte Ducos Cedar Valley High School; Eagle Mountain, UT
UT Stephan Seabury5 Providence Hall High School; Herriman, UT
VA Fara Cepak Alexandria City High School, CFC Academy; Alexandria, VA
WA Julia Stepper Woodland High School; Woodland, WA
WV Ashley Smith Parkersburg South High School; Parkersburg, WV
WI Lindsay McBride Ozaukee Middle School; Fredonia, WI
WI Jesse Perez6 Shorewood High School; Shorewood, WI
WY Arne Hengesteg Horizon High School/Evanston High School; Evanston, WY


Prospective Teachers (Junior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and undergraduate school

ME Laura Curioli University of Maine at Orono; Orono, ME
SC Brendan Shaw Presbyterian College; Clinton, SC

1 Bryan Shaw’s fellowship, the Henry Salvatori—James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Henry Salvatori Foundation.

2 Meghan Barbarbour‘s fellowship, the J. Seward Johnson, Jr.—James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Atlantic Foundation of Princeton, New Jersey.

3 Macee Voss’s fellowship, the Admiral Paul A. Yost, Jr., — James Madison Fellowship is funded by the Tracy H. Dickinson Foundation of Delray Beach, Florida.

4 Andrew W. Schrettner‘s fellowship, the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr.—James Madison Fellowship is endowed by the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr. Foundation, Inc. of Delray Beach, Florida.

5 Stephan Seabury‘s fellowship, the Fellows’ Fellowship, is funded in part by contributions from James Madison Fellows.

6 Jesse Perez’s fellowship, the Frederick Douglass — James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the James Madison Education Fund.