Skip to main content
Foundation News

James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation Announces 2022 Fellows

The James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation of Alexandria, Virginia announced today that it has selected 54 James Madison Fellows for 2022 in its thirtieth annual fellowship competition. James Madison Fellowships support the graduate study of American history by aspiring and experienced secondary school teachers of American history, American government, and civics.

Named in honor of the fourth president of the United States and acknowledged “Father of the Constitution and Bill of Rights,” a James Madison Fellowship funds up to $24,000 of each Fellow’s course of study towards a master’s degree. That program must include a concentration of courses on the history and principles of the United States Constitution.

The 54 James Madison Fellows were selected in competition with applicants from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the nation’s island and trust territories. The fellowships are funded by income from a trust fund in the Treasury of the United States and from additional private gifts, corporate contributions, and foundation grants. Recipients are required to teach American history, American government, or civics in a secondary school for at least one year for each year of fellowship support. The award is intended to recognize promising and distinguished teachers, to strengthen their knowledge of the origins and development of American constitutional government, and thus to expose the nation’s secondary school students to accurate knowledge of the nation’s constitutional heritage.

Founded by an Act of Congress in 1986, the James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation is an independent agency of the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Additional information may be found at

2022 James Madison Fellows

Current Teachers (Senior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and secondary school where they teach

AL Tammy L. Bean Sardis Middle School, Boaz, AL
AR Austin J. Taylor Cabot Panther Academy; Cabot, AR
AZ David Lipinski1 Mohave High School; Bullhead City, AZ
CA Erica Shaw College Now; Pleasant Hill, CA
CA Angel M. Chapman2 Bernardo Heights Middle School; San Diego, CA
CO Lilia A. Overmyer DSST Middle School at Noel; Denver; CO
DC Maureen A. McNicholl U. S. Department of State; Washington, DC
DE Thomas Leighty Dover High School; Dover, DE
FL Matthew S. Bunch MAST Academy; Miami, FL
FL Jason L. Fernandez3 Miramar High School; Miramar, FL
GA Bobbi H. Sauls Jasper County High School; Monticello, GA
HI Lauren N. Morimoto `Iolani School; Honolulu, HI
IA Justin D. Smith East High School, DMPS; Des Moines, IA
ID Kyle Miyauchi Middleton High School; Middleton, ID
IL Cristen Chapman John Hancock College Prep; Chicago, IL
IN Brad Bowditch South Side High School; Fort Wayne, IN
KS Bryan Little McPherson High School; McPherson, KS
KY Michael Jones Southwestern High School; Somerset, KY
LA Simon J. Bowers University View Academy; Baton Rouge, LA
MA Phillip Balkus Walpole High School; Walpole, MA
MD Wyatt Turner4 Suitland High School; Forestville, MD
MI Allison D. Burkhardt Byron Center West Middle School; Byron Center, MI
MI Jessica Wood5 Arbor Preparatory High School; Ypsilanti, MI
MN Melanie M. Urban Maple River High School; Mapleton, MN
MO Benjamin Smythe Capital City High School; Jefferson City, MO
MS James G. Howard Petal High School; Petal, MS
MT Michael L. Herdina Conrad High School; Conrad, MT
NC Lawtnee M. Frazier Julius Chambers High School; Charlotte, NC
ND Mike Bisenius Red River High School; Grand Forks, ND
ND Gage R. Sitte6 Northern Cass High School; Hunter, ND
NE Myra Popenfoose North Star High School; Lincoln, NE
NH Katherine A. Bazzell Newmarket Junior Senior High School; Newmarket, NH
NJ Brian Tuskan Piscataway High School; Piscataway, NJ
NJ Dane M. Stephenson7 Raritan High School; Hazlet, NJ
NM David Lindburg Piedra Vista High School; Farmington, NM
NV Andrew Flagg Western High School; Las Vegas, NV
NY Melissa Hamilton Warwick Valley Central School Dist.; Warwick, NY
OH Scott R. Garapic Garrett Morgan School of Engineering; Cleveland, OH
OK Jennifer Blevins Southmoore High School; Moore, OK
OR Jessica R. Colburn La Pine Middle School; La Pine, OR
PA Robert F. Marsden Vaux Big Picture High School; Philadelphia, PA
PA Danielle Saint Hilaire8 Friends' Central School; Wynnewood, PA
RI Christopher W. Stanley Ponaganset High School; North Scituate, RI
TN Allison Collier Collierville High School; Collierville, TN
TX Jennifer W. Perez Harleton Junior High; Harleton, TX
TX Meagan Estrada Holt9 Wunderlich Intermediate; Houston, TX
UT Kiersten G. Holt American Fork High School; American Fork, UT
VA Michael Wilken Atlee High School; Mechanicsville, VA
WA Elizabeth Doughty Chief Umtuch Middle School; Battle Ground, WA
WI Melissa Brockman Gresham School District; Gresham, WI
WV Ashley E. Vascik Boonsboro High School; Boonsboro, MD
WY Sara M. Miller Laramie High School; Laramie, WY


Prospective Teachers (Junior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and undergraduate school

SC Abigail Fleig Clemson University; Clemson, SC
SD Connor Young Minnesota State University, Mankato; Mankato, MN

1 David P. Lipinski’s fellowship, the Admiral Paul A. Yost, Jr.-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the James Madison Education Fund, Inc.

2 Angel M. Chapman‘s fellowship, the Henry Salvatori-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Henry Salvatori Foundation.

3 Jason L. Fernandez’s fellowship, the J. Seward Johnson, Jr.-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Atlantic Foundation of Princeton, New Jersey.

4 Wyatt Turner’s fellowship, the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott-James Madison Fellowship is funded by the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation of Bethesda, MD.

5 Jessica M. Wood’s fellowship, The Lisa and Brian Meer-James Madison Fellowship is funded by The Lisa and Brian Meer Foundation of West Bloomfield, Michigan.

6 Gage Sitte’s fellowship, “The 30th Anniversity James Madison Fellows’ Fellowship,” is funded in part by contributions from James Madison Fellows.

7 Dane M. Stephenson’s fellowship, the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr.-James Madison Fellowship is endowed by the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr. Foundation, Inc. of Roseland, New Jersey.

8 Danielle Saint Hilaire’s fellowship, the Frederick Douglass-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr. Foundation, Inc. of Roseland, New Jersey.

9 Meagan Estrada Holt’s fellowship, the Frederick Douglass-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the Sumner’s Foundation of Irving, Texas.