Skip to main content
Foundation News

James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation Announces 2021 Fellows

The James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation of Alexandria, Virginia announced today that it has selected 57 James Madison Fellows for 2021 in its thirtieth annual fellowship competition. James Madison Fellowships support the graduate study of American history by aspiring and experienced secondary school teachers of American history, American government, and civics.

Named in honor of the fourth president of the United States and acknowledged “Father of the Constitution and Bill of Rights,” a James Madison Fellowship funds up to $24,000 of each Fellow’s course of study towards a master’s degree. That program must include a concentration of courses on the history and principles of the United States Constitution.

The 57 James Madison Fellows were selected in competition with applicants from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the nation’s island and trust territories. The fellowships are funded by income from a trust fund in the Treasury of the United States and from additional private gifts, corporate contributions, and foundation grants. Recipients are required to teach American history or civics in a secondary school for at least one year for each year of fellowship support. The award is intended to recognize promising and distinguished teachers, to strengthen their knowledge of the origins and development of American constitutional government, and thus to expose the nation’s secondary school students to accurate knowledge of the nation’s constitutional heritage.

Founded by an Act of Congress in 1986, the James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation is an independent agency of the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Additional information about the Foundation may be found at

2021 James Madison Fellows

Current Teachers (Senior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and secondary school where they teach

AK Rebecca Dixon Seward Middle School; Seward, AK
AL Madison L. Harrelson Auburn High School; Auburn, AL
AR Christopher J. Tanner South Side High School; Bee Branch, AR
AZ Mary Pinnecker Central High School; Phoenix, AZ
CA Anna Lehrman1 Reedley High School; Reedley, CA
CA Isaac W. Farhadian John H. Pitman High School; Turlock, CA
CA Angelo J. Sandoval2 Edison High School; Stockton, CA
CO Jesseb Adam Prairie School; New Raymer, CO
CT Joseph P. Lewerk Killingly High School; Killingly, CT
DE Heather Hingston Newark Charter School; Newark, DE
FL Mike Fitts Homestead Middle School; Homestead, FL
FL Robert Brown3 Winter Haven Senior High School; Winter Haven, FL
GA Stephanie L. Pain4 Georgia Cyber Academy; Atlanta, GA
HI Ashley Yang Kalani High School; Honolulu, HI
IA Jennifer E. Paulsen Holmes Junior High; Cedar Falls, IA
ID Jamie L. Keller-Mann Union High School; Nampa, ID
IL Nicole Frazer Jefferson High School; Rockford, IL
IN Johannah L. Miesner Suburban Bethlehem Lutheran School; Fort Wayne, IN
KS Sonja M. Czarnecki Bishop Seabury Academy; Lawrence, KS
LA Edward S. Noble Grace King High School; Metairie, LA
MA Marissa Gallant Dennis Yarmouth Regional High School; South Yarmouth, MA
MD Alexander Miletich, IV5 Eleanor Roosevelt High School; Greenbelt, MD
MD Jimmy P. Grant6 Fallston High School; Fallston, MD
MD Norma Johnson Melvin J Berman Hebrew Academy; Rockville, MD
ME Earl D. Watts Waterville Alternative High School; Waterville, ME
MI Monica Bisha Warren Woods Middle School; Warren, MI
MN Eric J. Arlien ISD #885; St. Michael, MN
MO Travis J. Daller Muriel W. Battle High School; Columbia, MO
MT April R. Wuelfing Sheridan Public Schools; Sheridan, MT
NC Anthony Yodice Community School of Davidson High School; Charlotte, NC
ND Landen J. Schmeichel Legacy High School; Bismarck, ND
NE Josh Jablonski Benson High Magnet School; Omaha, NE
NH Mary McAuliffe Noble High School; North Berwick, ME
NJ Daniel J. Cyckowski North Brunswick Township Middle School; North Brunswick, NJ
NJ Cameron W. Helvey7 The Hun School of Princeton; Princeton, NJ
NM Caryssa P. Silentman Kirtland Middle School; Kirtland, NM
NV Christina Boudell Doral Academy Red Rock; Las Vegas, NV
NY David W. Gordon Mahopac Middle School; Mahopac, NY
OH Matthew Wunderle Ravenna High School; Ravenna, OH
OR Lois MacMillan8 Grants Pass High School; Grants Pass, OR
OR Courtney Wertz Paisley Middle/High School; Paisley, OR
PA Pearl Jonas Science Leadership Academy; Philadelphia, PA
RI Micah Owino Kingsborough Community College; Brooklyn, NY
SC Dwight Evans Orange Grove Charter School; Charleston, SC
SD Scott W. Sorenson New Technology High School; Sioux Falls, SD
TN Amy L. Livingston Emerald Academy; Knoxville, TN
TX James Long Sidney Lanier High School; San Antonio, TX
UT Kelsie Berrett Mountain Ridge High School; Herriman, UT
VA Brian K. Hilton Fairfield Middle School; Richmond, VA
VA Chris Jones9 West Potomac High School; Alexandria, VA
VT Nicole Menard Milton Middle School; Milton, VT
WI Jaclyn W. Jecha New Berlin West Middle and High School; New Berlin, WI
WV William Bell Paden City; Paden City, WV
WY Morgan S. Praska Lander Valley High School; Lander, WY


Prospective Teachers (Junior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and undergraduate school

GA Valerie V. Ellis University of North Georgia; Cumming, GA
KY Dylan L. Richards University of Kentucky; Lexington, KY
MS Kristen McGuire Mississippi State University; Biloxi, MS

1Anna Lehrman’s fellowship, the Henry Salvatori—James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Henry Salvatori Foundation.

2Angelo J. Sandoval’s fellowship, the Frederick Douglass Fellowship, is funded by James Madison Education Fund, Inc. of Alexandria, Virginia.

3Robert Brown’s fellowship, the J. Seward Johnson, Jr.—James Madison Fellowship is endowed by the Atlantic Foundation of Princeton, New Jersey.

4Stephanie Pain’s fellowship is an “At-Large Fellowship” that was awarded by the 2021 Selection Committee, and is funded by the James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation.

5Alexander Miletich, IV’s fellowship, the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott— James Madison Fellowship is funded by the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation of Washington, DC.

6Jimmy Grant’s fellowship, the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott— James Madison Fellowship is funded by the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation of Washington, DC.

7Cameron Helvey’s fellowship, the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr.— James Madison Fellowship is endowed by the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr. Foundation, Inc. of Delray Beach, Florida.

8Lois MacMillan’s fellowship, “The Fellow’s Fellowship,” is funded in part by contributions from James Madison Fellows.

9Chris Jones’ fellowship, the Frederick Douglass Fellowship, is funded by Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr. Foundation, Inc. of Delray Beach, Florida


Sheila Osbourne, PhD