Skip to main content
Foundation News

James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation Announces 2020 James Madison Fellows

The James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation of Alexandria, Virginia announced today that it has selected 49 James Madison Fellows for 2020 in its twenty-ninth annual fellowship competition. James Madison Fellowships support the graduate study of American history by aspiring and experienced secondary school teachers of American history, American government, and civics.

Named in honor of the fourth president of the United States and acknowledged “Father of the Constitution and Bill of Rights,” a James Madison Fellowship funds up to $24,000 of each Fellow’s course of study towards a master’s degree. That program must include a concentration of courses on the history and principles of the United States Constitution.

The 49 James Madison Fellows were selected in competition with applicants from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the nation’s island and trust territories. The fellowships are funded by income from a trust fund in the Treasury of the United States and from additional private gifts, corporate contributions, and foundation grants. Recipients are required to teach American history, American government or civics in a secondary school for at least one year for each year of fellowship support. The award is intended to recognize promising and distinguished teachers, to strengthen their knowledge of the origins and development of American constitutional government, and thus to expose the nation’s secondary school students to accurate knowledge of the nation’s constitutional heritage.

Founded by an Act of Congress in 1986, the James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation is an independent agency of the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Additional information may be found at

2020 James Madison Fellows

Current Teachers (Senior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and secondary school where they teach

AK Alyssa M. Logan Chugiak High School; Chugiak, AK
AL Matthew Summerlin Auburn High School; Auburn, AL
AR Daniel O. Caudle Russellville High School; Russellville, AR
AZ Ann M. Shanahan G&T Academy & Maryvale HS; Phoenix, AZ
CA Nicole Miller1 Mission Hills High School; San Marcos, CA
CA Yen Ju Kuo The Branson School; Ross, CA
CO Alexis DeNeice Lakewood High School; Lakewood, CO
CT Kathleen N. Boland Trumbull High School; Trumbull, CT
DE Andrea Edmonds Postlethwait Middle School; Camden, DE
FL Allison J. Elledge2 Flagler Palm Coast High School; Palm Coast, FL
FL Sarah Witkowski Pine Crest School; Fort Lauderdale, FL
GA Molly Bethune Roswell High School; Roswell, GA
HI Mary G. Ward Asia Pacific International School; Hauula, HI
IA Shauna F. Cihacek Kirn Middle School; Council Bluffs, IA
IL Johanna Heppeler East Leyden High School; Franklin Park, IL
IL Thomas Rooney3 West Leyden High School; Northlake, IL
IN TaShena R. Melton Calumet Christian School; Griffith, IN
KS Sarah Hoff Dodge City High School; Dodge City, KS
KY Jeanie E. Smith Drakes Creek Middle School; Bowling Green, KY
LA Lauren LeBato Alfred M. Barbe High School; Lake Charles, LA
ME Alyssa K. McLean Edward Little High School; Auburn, ME
MI Tony Perry Salem Lutheran School; Owosso, MI
MN Christopher M. Pappadackis KMS High School; Kerkhoven, MN
MO Andrew Seavy Joplin High School; Joplin, MO
MS Kevin J. Allemand Hancock High School; Kiln, MS
NC Jeffrey Natoli South Iredell High School; Concord, NC
ND Kayla Werre Nedrose High School; Minot, ND
NE Nicholas Hegge Logan View Public Schools; Hooper, NE
NH Mallory A. Langkau Groveton High School; Groveton, NH
NJ Tessa L. Belluscio I.S. Kosloff Torah Academy; Bala Cynwyd, PA
NJ Steven R. Anderson4 Timber Creek Regional High School; Sicklerville, NJ
NM Joshua G. Arbogast Capital High School; Santa Fe, NM
NV Jamie N. Homm Desert Skies Middle School; Sun Valley, NV
NY Michael T. Crosby Liverpool High School; Liverpool, NY
OH Amy Elsass Miamisburg High School; Miamisburg, OH
OK Anna M. Lenardson Cookson Hills Christian School; Kansas, OK
OR Jacqueline Pope-Brothers Sprague High School; Salem, OR
PA Robbie L. Tubbs Jr. Clearfield Area Jr/Sr High School; Clearfield, PA
TN Brandon M. Eldridge Warren County High School; Mcminnville, TN
TX Trasa Cobern Trinity High School; Euless, TX
TX Delia Perez5 J. Economedes High School; Edinburg, TX
UT Emily Glende Waterford School; Sandy, UT
VA Samuel Ulmschneider Maggie L. Walker Governor's School; Richmond, VA
WA Paul Morrisroe Eastside Catholic School; Sammamish, WA
WI Jennifer L. Helstad Rice Lake High School; Rice Lake, WI
WV Tabatha Craddock Ripley High School; Ripley, WV
WY Mark Seivley Cheyenne East High School; Cheyenne, WY


Prospective Teachers (Junior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and undergraduate school

MA Emma M. Dionne Marist College; Poughkeepsie, NY
SC Amani M. Altwam Clemson University; Clemson, SC

1 Nicole Miller's fellowship, the Henry Salvatori—James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Henry Salvatori Foundation.

2 Allison J. Elledge's fellowship, the J. Seward Johnson, Jr.—James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Atlantic Foundation of Princeton, New Jersey.

3 Thomas Rooney's fellowship "The Fellows' Fellowship," is funded in part by contributions from James Madison Fellows.

4 Steven R. Anderson's fellowship, the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr.—James Madison Fellowship is endowed by the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr. Foundation, Inc. of Roseland, New Jersey.

5 Delia Perez's fellowship, the Amy Shelton McNutt Trust—James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the Amy Shelton McNutt Trust.