Skip to main content
Foundation News

James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation Announces 2017 James Madison Fellows

The James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation of Alexandria, VA announced today that it has selected 53 James Madison Fellows for 2017 in its twenty-sixth annual fellowship competition. James Madison Fellowships support the graduate study of American history by aspiring and experienced secondary school teachers of American history, American government, and civics.

Named in honor of the fourth president of the United States and acknowledged “Father of the Constitution and Bill of Rights,” a James Madison Fellowship funds up to $24,000 of each Fellow’s course of study towards a master’s degree. That program must include a concentration of courses on the history and principles of the United States Constitution.

The 53 James Madison Fellows were selected in competition with applicants from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the nation’s island and trust territories. The fellowships are funded by income from a trust fund in the Treasury of the United States and from additional private gifts, corporate contributions, and foundation grants. Recipients are required to teach American history or civics in a secondary school for at least one year for each year of fellowship support. The award is intended to recognize promising and distinguished teachers, to strengthen their knowledge of the origins and development of American constitutional government, and thus to expose the nation’s secondary school students to accurate knowledge of the nation’s constitutional heritage.

Founded by an Act of Congress in 1986, the James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation is an independent agency of the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Additional information may be found at

2017 James Madison Fellows

Current Teachers (Senior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and secondary school where they teach

AK Daryl Frisbie Tri-Valley School, Healy, AK
AZ Jacob Harvey Hamilton High School, Chandler, AZ
CA Malik Ali Branson School, Ross, CA
CA Evan J. Blasingame1 St. Helena High School, St. Helena, CA
CO Jill L. Duplessis Soroco High School, Oak Creek, CO
CT Lisa Lee New Milford High School, New Milford, CT
FL Kristofer I. Atkinson2 Villages Charter Middle School, The Villages, FL
FL Teresita Davila-Alexander All Angels Academy, Miami Springs, FL
GA Rachel S. Thompson R. L. Osborne High School, Marietta, GA
HI Alexander E. Adkins Sacred Hearts Academy, Honolulu, HI
IA Ann Krois West Des Moines Valley High School, West Des Moines, IA
IA Brad Rahmiller3 Marshalltown High School, Marshalltown, IA
ID Brendan Earle Idaho Fine Arts Academy, Eagle, ID
IL Kelli Tufo4 Neuqua Valley High School, Naperville, IL
IN Nicole Morrison Charlestown High School, Charlestown, IN
KS Dave McIntire The Independent School, Wichita, KS
KY Kendrick W. Bryan LaRue County High School, Hodgenville, KY
LA Sean Hudson Paul Habans Charter School, New Orleans, LA
MD Fiona Madigan5 Northwood High School, Silver Spring, MD
ME Donald Clark Heronfield Academy, Hampton Falls, NH
MI Annemarie Conway Charlevoix High School, Charlevoix, MI
MN Mark R. Wiese Mankato West High School, Mankato, MN
MO Wesley Hall School of the Osage, Osage Beach, MO
MS Jeffrey Bush Gulfport High School, Gulfport, MS
MT Jeffery B. Lowe Heart Butte School, Heart Butte, MT
ND Robert J. Schwartz Des Lacs-Burlington High School, Des Lacs, ND
NE Shane Adams Ralston High School, Ralston, NE
NH Wendy M. Bergeron Winnacunnet High School, Hampton, NH
NJ Kevin Casey6 Pitman High School, Pitman, NJ
NJ Sara LeGate Haddonfield Memorial High School, Haddonfield, NJ
NV Alexander P. Ritter Basic Academy of International Studies, Henderson, NV
OH Jason Berling Seton High School, Cincinnati, OH
OH Joshua Spiegel Perrysburg High School, Perrysburg, OH
OR Corey R. Ely Grants Pass High School, Grants Pass, OR
PA Jane Highley Springside Chestnut Hill Academy, Philadelphia, PA
RI Colleen Miller Portsmouth High School, Portsmouth, RI
TN Jesse A. Brewer Dayspring Academy, Greenbrier, TN
TX Daniel Clason KIPP Spirit, Houston, TX
UT Lynda Boyle Monticello High School, Monticello, UT
VA Caitlin E. Kimak Hayfield Secondary School, Alexandria, VA
VT Richard Walden Saint Johnsbury Academy, Saint Johnsbury, VT
WA Laryssa Schmidt Charles Wright Academy, Tacoma, WA
WA David Dingler7 Eastside Catholic School, Sammamish, WA
WI Brent Zinkel Wausau East High School, Wausau, WI
WV Jill Fornadley Harpers Ferry Middle School, Harpers Ferry, WV
WY Karen A. Koritnik Rock Springs High School, Rock Springs, WY


Prospective Teachers (Junior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and undergraduate school

AR Elizabeth Harrison University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR
DC Sarah Manhardt University of Chicago, Chicago, IL
IL Alexandra Crume Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN
MA Marissa Nunes Plymouth State University, Plymouth, NH
NC Kate Mitchell Wesleyan University, Middletown, CT
NY Layla H. Treuhaft-Ali Yale University, New Haven, CT
SD Matthew Remmich Northern State University, Aberdeen, SD

1 Mr. Evan J. Blasingame’s fellowship, the Henry Salvatori—James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Henry Salvatori Foundation.

2 Mr. Kristofer I. Atkinson’s fellowship, the J. Seward Johnson, Jr.—James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Atlantic Foundation of Princeton, New Jersey.

3 Mr. Brad Rahmiller’s fellowship, “The James Madison Fellows’ Fellowship,” is funded in part by contributions from active and alumni James Madison Fellows.

4 Ms. Kelli Tufo’s fellowship, the McCormick Foundation—James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the McCormick Foundation of Chicago, Illinois.

5 Ms. Fiona Madigan’s fellowship, the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott—James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation of Washington, DC.

6 Mr. Kevin Casey’s fellowship, the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr.—James Madison Fellowship is endowed by the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr. Foundation, Inc. of Roseland, New Jersey.

7 Mr. David Dingler was awarded an At Large Fellowship by the 2017 Selection Committee.