Skip to main content
Foundation News

James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation Announces 2012 Fellows

The James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation of Washington, D.C., announced today that it has selected 58 James Madison Fellows for 2012 in its twenty-first annual fellowship competition. James Madison Fellowships support the graduate study of American history by aspiring and experienced secondary school teachers of American history, American government, and social studies.

Named in honor of the fourth president of the United States and acknowledged “Father of the Constitution and Bill of Rights,” a James Madison Fellowship funds up to $24,000 of each Fellow’s course of study towards a master’s degree. That program must include a concentration of courses on the history and principles of the United States Constitution.

The 58 James Madison Fellows were selected in competition with applicants from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the nation’s island and trust territories. The fellowships are funded by income from a trust fund in the Treasury of the United States and from additional private gifts, corporate contributions, and foundation grants. Recipients are required to teach American history or social studies in a secondary school for at least one year for each year of fellowship support. The award is intended to recognize promising and distinguished teachers, to strengthen their knowledge of the origins and development of American constitutional government, and thus to expose the nation’s secondary school students to accurate knowledge of the nation’s constitutional heritage.

Founded by an Act of Congress in 1986, the James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation is an independent agency of the executive branch of the federal government. Additional information may be found at

2012 James Madison Fellows

Current Teachers (Senior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and secondary school where they teach

AZ Allison M. Fluke Rio Rico High School; Rio Rico, AZ
CA Juan F. Resendez Irvine High School; Irvine, CA
CO Whitney Barnes Lakewood Senior High School; Lakewood, CO
CT Jennifer L. Britner Berlin High School; Berlin, CT
DE Joseph F. Gioffre Salesianum School; Wilmington, DE
FL Patricia C. Everett1 Father Lopez High School; Daytona Beach, FL
FL Stephen Hansen Winter Park High School; Winter Park, FL
FL Kari M. Ramsey Harmony High School; Harmony, FL
GA Jason E. Butler DeKalb Early College Academy; Stone Mountain, GA
GA Kevin P. Rhoads Dominion Christian School; Marietta, GA
ID Joshua M. Warwick Kimberly Middle School; Kimberly, ID
IL Jeffrey Lobo2 Zion-Benton Township High School; Zion, IL
IN Kyle J. Davis Elkhart Memorial High School; Elkhart, IN
IA Franklin W. Dea Cumberland Anita Messina High School; Anita, IA
KS Robert John Ovsak Emporia Middle School; Emporia, KS
KY Brett Alan Pritchett University Heights Academy; Hopkinsville, KY
LA Alicia Nicole Fergerson Central Private School; Baker, LA
ME Martin Schmeisser Bressler Saint Dominic Regional High School; Auburn, ME
MD Kimberly Cherie Moore3 Gaithersburg High School; Gaithersburg, MD
MD Kathryn Marie Wathen Westlake High School; Waldorf, MD
MA Steven Patrick Moynihan Barnstable High School; Hyannis, MA
MI Anthony Robert Brey Garber High School; Essexville, MI
MI Tricia Kremke Potters House High School; Grand Rapids, MI
MN Eric Colin Swiggum Cameron Metro Heights Academy; Columbia Heights, MN
MN Shannon Mary McLean Royalton High School; Royalton, MN
MS DeAnna Rose Roessling Biloxi High School; Biloxi, MS
MO Gregory Joseph Brenner Alta Vista Education Center; Kansas City, MO
MT Brad M. Faulhaber Sidney High School; Sidney, MT
NE Tyler Maxon Sacred Heart School; Lincoln, NE
NV Kylie Irene Miller Spanish Springs High School; Sparks, NV
NH Stephen Bernard Vetack Milford High School; Milford, NH
NJ Andrew Vernon4 Woodbury High School; Woodbury, NJ
NJ Samantha Western Livingston High School; Livingston, NJ
NM David Robert Scroggs Arrowhead Park Early College High School; Las Cruces, NM
NY Marc Skelton Fannie Lou Hamer Freedom High School; New York, NY
NC Brandi Layne Philipps Pamlico County High School; Bayboro, NC
OH Jason Milczewski Revere High School; Richfield, OH
OK Dionne Nichelle Lewis Central Junior High School; Tulsa, OK
OR Brian Kenneth Scott Johnson Pendleton High School; Pendleton, OR
PA Katherine L. Hagee Wilson High School; West Lawn, PA
RI Bryan-Keith J. Nordan Urban Collaborative Accelerated Program; Providence, RI
SC Mark D. Welch Walhalla Senior High School; Walhalla, SC
TN Mark Harold Brunton Saint Andrew's-Sewanee School; Sewanee, TN
TX Maureen Mary Gray Taylor High School; Taylor, TX
TX Jennifer Stewart Venable Waxahachie High School; Waxahachie, TX
UT Cody L. Nesbit Alta High School; Sandy, UT
VA Cynthia Burgett Rachel Carson Middle School; Herndon, VA
WA Brock Anderson Wahluke High School; Mattawa, WA
WV Derek Hughes Washington High School; Charles Town, WV
WI James Edward Huston Bloomer Senior High School; Bloomer, WI
WY Brent Michael Jurgensen Natrona County High School; Casper, WY


Prospective Teachers (Junior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and undergraduate school

AK Nathan W. Walters University of Minnesota, Twin Cities; Minneapolis, MN
AL Melissa K. McDonough University of Alabama; Tuscaloosa, AL
AR Rebecca A. Schaeffer Henderson State University; Arkadelphia, AR
CA Alyse Romero5 California State University; San Bernardino, CA
CA Kate A. Stephensen Northwestern University; Evanston, IL
IL Laura Koroski Connecticut College; New London, CT
MO Michael W. Stevenson6 University of Iowa; Iowa City, IA

1 Ms. Patricia C. Everett’s fellowship, the J. Seward Johnson, Sr.-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Atlantic Foundation of Princeton, New Jersey.

2 Mr. Jeffrey Lobo’s fellowship, the McCormick Foundation-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the Robert McCormick Foundation of Chicago, Illinois.

3 Ms. Kimberly C. Moore’s fellowship, the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation of Washington, D.C.

4 Mr. Andrew Vernon’s fellowship, the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr.-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr. Foundation, Inc., of Delray Beach, Florida.

5 Ms. Alyse Romero’s fellowship, the Henry Salvatori-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Henry Salvatori Foundation.

6 Mr. Michael W. Stevenson’s fellowship, “The Fellows’ Fellowship,” is funded in part by contributions from current and alumni James Madison Fellows.