Skip to main content
Foundation News

James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation Announces 2010 Fellows

The James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation of Washington, D.C., announced today that it has selected 58 James Madison Fellows for 2010 in its nineteenth annual fellowship competition. James Madison Fellowships support the graduate study of American history by aspiring and experienced secondary school teachers of American history, American government, and social studies.

Named in honor of the fourth president of the United States and acknowledged "Father of the Constitution and Bill of Rights," a James Madison Fellowship funds up to $24,000 of each Fellow's course of study towards a master's degree. That program must include a concentration of courses on the history and principles of the United States Constitution.

The 58 James Madison Fellows were selected in competition with applicants from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the nation's island and trust territories. The fellowships are funded by income from a trust fund in the Treasury of the United States and from additional private gifts, corporate contributions, and foundation grants. Recipients are required to teach American history or social studies in a secondary school for at least one year for each year of fellowship support. The award is intended to recognize promising and distinguished teachers, to strengthen their knowledge of the origins and development of American constitutional government, and thus to expose the nation's secondary school students to accurate knowledge of the nation's constitutional heritage.

Founded by an Act of Congress in 1986, the James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation is an independent establishment of the executive branch of the federal government. Additional information may be found at

2010 James Madison Fellows

Current Teachers (Senior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and secondary school where they teach

AK Rachel M. Kohl Kwethluk High School; Kwethluk, AK
AL Benjamin R. Osborne Vestavia Hills High School; Vestavia Hills, AL
AR Martene L. Mourning Episcopal Collegiate School; Little Rock, AR
AZ Jaime R. Leverington Red Mountain High School; Mesa, AZ
CA Joseph S. Biron Foothill High School; Bakersfield, CA
CA Scott J. Bradley1 Fred C. Beyer High School; Modesto, CA
CA Dominic J. Caserta II Santa Clara High School; Santa Clara, CA
CO Joseph E. Collins Ridgeview Classical School; Fort Collins, CO
CT Jennifer C. Gembala Canton Jr-Sr High School; Canton, CT
DC Kurt J. Becker Paul Public Charter School; Washington, DC
DE Steven F. Byers Louis L. Redding Middle School; Middletown, DE
FL Michelle M. Hubenschmidt Mulberry Senior High School; Mulberry, FL
FL Jennifer A. Jolley2 Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School; Parkland, FL
GA Lauren M. Dworsky Pauling County High School; Dallas, GA
HI Elizabeth L. Baclayon Chiefess Kamakahelei Middle School; Lihue, HI
IA Charles C. Kannapel East High School; Des Moines, IA
IL David G. Elbaum Adlai E. Stevenson High School; Lincolnshire, IL
IL Kyle T. Hickman3 Wheaton-Warrenville South High School; Wheaton, IL
IN William L. Lorigan Christian Academy of Indiana; New Albany, IN
KS Donna R. Devlin Smith Center Jr-Sr High School; Smith Center, KS
LA John James North Helen Cox High School; Harvey, LA
MA Christine Chu Framingham High School; Wellesley, MA
MD Francis J. Eder4 West Nottingham Academy; Colora, MD
MD Tiferet Malka Reilly Parkland Magnet Middle School; Rockville, MD
MI Patricia Ann Gray Fenton High School; Fenton, MI
MI Michelle Dianne Holowicki Brighton High School; Brighton, MI
MN Heather Sue Loeschke Cannon Falls Jr-Sr High School; Cannon Falls, MN
MO Jacquelyn Suzanne Wamser Mehlville Senior High School; Saint Louis, MO
MS David Joel Pinnow Lewisburg High School; Olive Branch, MS
NC Tiffany R. Rhodes Richlands High School; Richlands, NC
ND Susan H. Reinhiller Standing Rock Grant School; Fort Yates, ND
NJ Stuart M. Wexler5 Highstown High School; Highstown, NJ
NM David J. Hill Robertson High School; Las Vegas, NM
NM Marisa Jamie Silva6 Valley High School; Albuquerque, NM
NV Keith Ivan Cooper Moapa Valley High School; Overton, NV
NY Amber McLain Quinn Shenendehowa High School; Clifton Park, NY
OH Jill D. Wise Glen Oak High School; Canton, OH
OK Pamela K. Duncan Mustang Middle School; Mustang, OK
OK Christina E. Gause7 Cleveland Middle School; Tulsa, OK
OR Alison L. Jessie Fukuoka International School; Fukuoka, Japan
PA Jason M. Todd Charles Carroll High School; Philadelphia, PA
RI James J. Betres Jr. Portsmouth High School; Portsmouth, RI
SC Brandi E. Cook Marion High School; Marion, SC
TX Patience D. LeBlanc8 Liberty High School; Frisco, TX
TX Margaret T. Wilkening9 Lamar Consolidated High School; Rosenberg, TX
UT Eric M. Wall Copper Hills High School; West Jordan, UT
VA Melinda A. Sloan Tabb High School; Yorktown, VA
WI Michael L. Ellery Nathan Hale High School; West Allis, WI
WV James A. Wendt Nitro High School; Nitro, WV
WY Shawn M. Delaney CY Junior High School; Casper, WY


Prospective Teachers (Junior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and undergraduate school

KY Mark L. Smith University of Kentucky; Lexington, KY
ME Derek B. Anderson Colgate University; Hamilton, NY
NE Trevor James Shalon Peru State College; Peru, NE
NH Adam D. Krauss Suffolk University; Boston, MA
NJ Timothy Charles McCall Bates College; Lewiston, ME
TN Rebecca M. Beard University of Memphis; Memphis, TN
TX Tracy Allen University of Texas, Austin; Austin, TX
WA Jason W. Schumman University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill; Chapel Hill, NC

1   Mr. Bradley's fellowship, the Henry Salvatori-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Henry Salvatori Foundation.

2   Ms. Jolley's fellowship, the J. Seward Johnson, Sr.-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Atlantic Foundation of Princeton, New Jersey.

3   Mr. Hickman's fellowship, the McCormick Foundation-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the McCormick Freedom Project of Chicago, Illinois.

4   Mr. Elder's fellowship, the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation of Washington, D.C.

5   Mr. Wexler's fellowship, the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr.-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr. Foundation, Inc., of Delray Beach, Florida.

6   Ms. Silva's fellowship, The Hatton W. Sumners-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by The Hatton W. Sumners Foundation of Dallas, Texas.

7   Ms. Gause's fellowship, The Hatton W. Sumners-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by The Hatton W. Sumners Foundation of Dallas, Texas.

8   Ms. LeBlanc's fellowship, The Hatton W. Sumners-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by The Hatton W. Sumners Foundation of Dallas, Texas.

9   Ms. Wilkening's fellowship, "The Fellows' Fellowship," is funded in part by contributions from current and alumni James Madison Fellows. A special acknowledgement for the funds received from the Major William Stevenson, Sr. Memorial Fund in honor of the late Major William Stevenson, Sr., '95 (TX).