Skip to main content
Foundation News

James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation Announces 2007 Fellows

The James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation of Washington, D.C., announced today that it has selected 57 James Madison Fellows for the year 2007 in its sixteenth annual fellowship competition. James Madison Fellowships support the graduate study of American history by aspiring and experienced secondary school teachers of American history, American government, and social studies.

Named in honor of the fourth president of the United States and acknowledged "Father of the Constitution and Bill of Rights," a James Madison Fellowship funds up to $24,000 of each Fellow's course of study towards a master's degree. That program must include a concentration of courses on the history and principles of the United States Constitution.

The 57 James Madison Fellows were selected in competition with applicants from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the nation's island and trust territories. The fellowships are funded by income from a trust fund in the Treasury of the United States and from additional private gifts, corporate contributions, and foundation grants. Recipients are required to teach American history or social studies in a secondary school for at least one year for each year of fellowship support. The award is intended to recognize promising and distinguished teachers, to strengthen their knowledge of the origins and development of American constitutional government, and thus to expose the nation's secondary school students to accurate knowledge of the nation's constitutional heritage.

Founded by an Act of Congress in 1986, the James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation is an independent establishment of the executive branch of the federal government. Additional information may be found at

2007 James Madison Fellows

Current Teachers (Senior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and secondary school where they teach

Arizona Nichole D. Evans Mesquite Junior High School; Gilbert, AZ
Arkansas Elizabeth H. Foshee Jacksonville High School - PCSSD; Jacksonville, AR
California Donald F. De Angelo1 Cathedral Catholic High School; San Diego, CA
California Heidi Stepp2 Amador Valley High School; Pleasanton, CA
Colorado Brian L. Bohnert Ralston Valley High School; Arvada, CO
Delaware Christopher P. Jones Middletown High School; Middletown, DE
District of Columbia Amy Trenkle Stuart-Hobson Middle School; Washington, DC
Florida Joseph L. Cofield Bonita Springs Middle School; Bonita Springs, FL
Georgia Emily Juckett Walton High School; Marietta, GA
Hawaii David E. Hughes Maui High School; Kahului, HI
Idaho Holly Kartchner Blackfoot High School; Blackfoot, ID
Illinois John M. Tobias Athens High School CUSD 213; Athens, IL
Illinois Pat Usher3 Carl Sandburg High School; Orland Park, IL
Indiana Elizabeth A. Bailey Hamilton Southeastern High School; Fishers, IN
Iowa Jeremy R. Yenger Johnston High School; Johnston, IA
Kentucky Suzanne L. Moss Floyd Central High School; Floyds Knobs, IN
Louisiana Robyn Verbois Christian Life Academy; Baton Rouge, LA
Maryland Christopher J. Forney John T. Baker Middle School; Damascus, MD
Maryland Sarah H. Poole4 Arundel High School; Gambrills, MD
Massachusetts Rebecca L. Johnson Malden High School; Malden, MA
Michigan Matt Schmidt Bay City Central High School; Bay City, MI
Minnesota Denise North Wrenshall High School; Wrenshall, MN
Mississippi Robert M. Walters Lanier High School; Jackson, MS
Missouri John Deken Hickman High School; Columbia, MO
Montana Christina Cote Gardiner Public School; Gardiner, MT
Nebraska Jennifer S. Kennedy-Smith Douglas County West Community Schools; Valley, NE
Nevada Jeffrey Hinton Sierra Vista High School; Las Vegas, NV
New Jersey David Reader5 Camden Catholic High School; Cherry Hill, NJ
New Mexico Rachael Button-Koenigsfeld6 James Monroe Middle School; Albuquerque, NM
New Mexico Joel D. Fouser Del Norte High School; Albuquerque, NM
New York Matthew E. Turner Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake High School; Burnt Hills, NY
Ohio Robert N. Curtis Westlake High School; Westlake, OH
Oklahoma Jennifer M. Reiter7 Carver Middle School; Tulsa, OK
Oregon Erin M. Nooy McMinnville High School; McMinnville, OR
Pennsylvania Matthew G. Roy Sun Valley High School; Aston, PA
Rhode Island Valerie M. Frezza North Smithfield Jr-Sr High School; North Smithfield, RI
South Carolina Anne Kelsey Hilton Head Middle School; Hilton Head Island, SC
Tennessee Deborah K. Puckett Madison Academic Magnet High School; Jackson, TN
Texas Rebecca L. Lacquey8 Katy High School; Katy, TX
Texas Sandra J. Reed Faith West Academy; Katy, TX
Utah Jenicee Jacobson Riverton High School; Riverton, UT
Vermont Catherine M. Reen Milton Elementary School; Milton, VT
Virginia Jennifer A. Bain Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology; Alexandria, VA
Washington Leah D. MacKenzie Three Rivers Christian School; Kelso, WA
Wisconsin Jennifer L. Melville Kaukauna High School; Kaukauna, WI
Wisconsin Blanca S. Ramirez9 Warren Township High School; Gurnee, IL
Wyoming Meaghan C. Gibson Laramie Senior High School; Laramie, WY


Prospective Teachers (Junior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and undergraduate school

Alabama Randall Reed Troy University; Troy, AL
California Theodora E. Chang Stanford University; Stanford, CA
Connecticut Salman B. Hamid Albertus Magnus College; New Haven, CT
Florida Kelly L. Smith10 The Florida State University; Tallahassee, FL
Kansas Janeal D. Schmidt Kansas State University; Manhattan, KS
New Hampshire Colby R. Young University of New Hampshire; Durham, NH
New Jersey Maya Afek Rutgers University-New Brunswick; New Brunswick, NJ
North Carolina Emily F. Bagley University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill; Chapel Hill, NC
South Dakota Heather L. Hubbel University of Sioux Falls; Sioux Falls, SD
West Virginia William C. Schaffer Jr. University of Charleston; Charleston, WV

1Mr. DeAngelo's fellowship is funded by an anonymous donor.

2Ms. Stepp's fellowship, the Henry Salvatori-James Madison Fellowship is endowed by the Henry Salvatori Foundation.

3Mr. Usher's fellowship, the McCormick Tribune Freedom Museum-James Madison Fellowship is funded by the McCormick Tribune Freedom Museum of Chicago, Illinois.

4Ms. Poole's fellowship, the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation of Washington, D.C.

5Mr. Reader's fellowship, the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr.-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr. Foundation Inc. of Roseland, New Jersey.

6Ms. Button-Koenigsfeld's fellowship, The Hatton W. Sumners-James Madison Fellowship is funded by the Hatton W. Sumners Foundation of Dallas, Texas.

7Ms. Reiter's fellowship, The Hatton W. Sumners-James Madison Fellowship is funded by the Hatton W. Sumners Foundation of Dallas, Texas.

8Ms. Lacquey's fellowship, the Hatton W. Sumners-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the Hatton W. Sumners Foundation of Dallas, Texas.

9Ms. Ramirez's fellowship, "The Fellows' Fellowship," is funded in part by contributions of current and alumni James Madison Fellows.

10Ms. Smith's fellowship, the J. Seward Johnson, Sr.-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Atlantic Foundation of Princeton, New Jersey.