Skip to main content
Foundation News

James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation Announces 2006 Fellows

The James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation of Washington, D.C., announced today that it has selected 50 James Madison Fellows for the year 2006 in its fifteenth annual fellowship competition. James Madison Fellowships support the graduate study of American history by aspiring and experienced secondary school teachers of American history, American government, and social studies.

Named in honor of the fourth president of the United States and acknowledged "Father of the Constitution and Bill of Rights," a James Madison Fellowship funds up to $24,000 of each Fellow's course of study towards a master's degree. That program must include a concentration of courses on the history and principles of the United States Constitution.

The 50 James Madison Fellows were selected in competition with applicants from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the nation's island and trust territories. The fellowships are funded by income from a trust fund in the Treasury of the United States and from additional private gifts, corporate contributions, and foundation grants. Recipients are required to teach American history or social studies in a secondary school for at least one year for each year of fellowship support. The award is intended to recognize promising and distinguished teachers, to strengthen their knowledge of the origins and development of American constitutional government, and thus to expose the nation's secondary school students to accurate knowledge of the nation's constitutional heritage.

Founded by an Act of Congress in 1986, the James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation is an independent establishment of the executive branch of the federal government. Additional information may be found at

2006 James Madison Fellows

Current Teachers (Senior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and secondary school where they teach

Alabama Kacey J. Vardaman Brewbaker Technology Magnet HS; Montgomery, AL
Alaska Mark E. Oppe Ben Eielson High School; Eielson AFB, AK
California Kevin H. Fox1 Arcadia High School; Arcadia, CA
California Mark F. Oberjuerge2 Dav Starr Jordan High School; Long Beach, CA
Colorado Michael C. Corey South High School; Denver, CO
District of Columbia William H. Stevens SEED Public Charter School; Washington, DC
Indiana Matthew J. Lo Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School; Indianapolis, IN
Iowa Brian D. Cleveland Newton High School; Newton, IA
Kansas Robert J. Nichols Goddard Senior High School; Goddard, KS
Maryland Joseph C. Rosalski Norbel School; Elkridge, MD
Maryland Joseph N. Sangillo3 Gaithersburg High School; Gaithersburg, MD
Massachusetts Andrea L. Grimes Leominster High School; Leominster, MA
Michigan Toby D. Kirk Coldwater Senior High School; Coldwater, MI
Minnesota Brandon L. Moore Dawson-Boyd High School; Dawson, MN
Missouri Angelia S. Moore Maplewood Richmond Heights Middle School; Maplewood, MO
Montana Walker H. Asserson Bozeman High School; Bozeman, MT
Nebraska Matthew A. Beiriger Millard South High School; Omaha, NE
New Hampshire Jordan E. Burke Haverhill Cooperative Middle School; North Haverhill, NH
New Jersey Joseph L. Foster Briarcliff School; Mountain Lakes, NJ
New Jersey Gary Klotzkin4 William C. McGinnis Middle School; Perth Amboy, NJ
New Mexico Katherine M. Turner Albuquerque Public Schools; Albuquerque, NM
North Carolina Elizabeth G. Knight Junius H. Rose High School; Greenville, NC
Ohio Deborah A. Kurtz5 Temple Christian School; Mansfield, OH
Ohio Amy L. Peters Revere High School; Richfield, OH
Pennsylvania Donna L. Sharer School District of Philadelphia, CAO; Philadelphia, PA
Rhode Island Kimberly A. Lowe North Smithfield Jr-Sr High School; North Smithfield, RI
South Dakota Erik R. Iverson Rapid City Academies; Rapid City, SD
Tennessee Mary E. Browning-Huntington Hunters Lane High School; Nashville, TN
Texas Shannon M. Jones Kealing Middle School; Austin, TX
Texas Allison K. Mittler Byron P. Steele II High School; Cibolo, TX
Utah Julie Major Mountain Crest High School; Hyrum, UT
Virginia Elizabeth D. Angney Bullis School; Potomac, MD
Washington Donald C. Oliver Reardan High School; Reardan, WA
Wisconsin Kevin S. Braatz Theisen Middle School; Fond du Lac, WI


Prospective Teachers (Junior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and undergraduate school

Arizona Jennifer A. Spensieri University of Arizona; Tucson, AZ
California Tina M. Kim Pomona College; Claremont, CA
Delaware Carlo R. Testa Gettysburg College; Gettysburg, PA
Florida Jason M. Balma6 University of Central Florida; Orlando, FL
Florida Richard W. Gallagher SUNY Plattsburgh; Plattsburgh, NY
Georgia William B. Busbin Auburn University; Auburn, AL
Illinois Sarah E. Jones Truman State University; Kirksville, MO
Kentucky Colleen E. Call College of Wooster; Wooster, OH
Louisiana Victoria A. McCardell Loyola University New Orleans; New Orleans, LA
Mississippi Russell G. Cannon Princeton University; Princeton, NJ
Nevada Traci R. Peyghambarian University of Nevada-Las Vegas; Las Vegas, NV
New York Marissa M. Owens University of Rhode Island; Kingston, RI
Oregon Ricardo Larios Oregon State University; Corvallis, OR
South Carolina Amanda B. Pettit University of South Carolina-Columbia; Columbia, SC
Vermont Tyler E. Alexander University of Maine; Orono, ME
Wyoming Amy B. Burnett University of Wyoming; Laramie, WY

1 Mr. Fox's fellowship, the Henry Salvatori-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Henry Salvatori Foundation of Los Angeles, California.

2 Mr. Oberjuerge's fellowship is funded by an anonymous donor.

3 Mr. Sangillo's fellowship is funded by the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation of Washington, D.C.

4 Mr. Klotzkin's fellowship, the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr.-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr. Foundation Inc. of Roseland, New Jersey.

5 Ms. Kurtz's fellowship, "The Fellows' Fellowship," is funded in part by contributions from current and alumni James Madison Fellows.

6 Mr. Balma's fellowship, the J. Seward Johnson, Sr.-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Atlantic Foundation of Princeton, New Jersey.