Skip to main content
Foundation News

James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation Announces 2004 Fellows

The James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation of Washington, D.C., announced today that it has selected 54 James Madison Fellows for the year 2004 in its thirteenth annual fellowship competition. James Madison Fellowships support the graduate study of American history by aspiring and experienced secondary school teachers of American history, American government, and social studies.

Named in honor of the fourth president of the United States and acknowledged "Father of the Constitution and Bill of Rights," a James Madison Fellowship funds up to $24,000 of each Fellow's course of study towards a master's degree. That program must include a concentration of courses on the history and principles of the United States Constitution.

The 54 James Madison Fellows were selected in competition with applicants from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the nation's island and trust territories. The fellowships are funded by income from a trust fund in the Treasury of the United States and from additional private gifts, corporate contributions, and foundation grants. Recipients are required to teach American history or social studies in a secondary school for at least one year for each year of fellowship support. The award is intended to recognize promising and distinguished teachers, to strengthen their knowledge of the origins and development of American constitutional government, and thus to expose the nation's secondary school students to accurate knowledge of the nation's constitutional heritage.

Founded by an Act of Congress in 1986, the James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation is an independent establishment of the executive branch of the federal government. Additional information may be found at

2004 James Madison Fellows

Current Teachers (Senior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and secondary school where they teach

Alaska Anthony R. Jensen Wasilla High School; Wasilla, AK
Arizona Edward W. Denny Tempe Preparatory Academy; Tempe, AZ
Arkansas Brandie K. Benton Hot Springs High School; Hot Springs, AR
California Shannon D. Hobbs1 Bernardo Heights Middle School; San Diego, CA
California Kristopher W. Kiebler2 Long Beach Renaissance High School for the Arts; Long Beach, CA
California Stacy E. Salz Torrey Pines High School; Encinitas, CA
Colorado Jeffery R. Appelhans William J. Palmer High School; Colorado Springs, CO
Florida Regina F. Stuck Homestead Middle School; Homestead, FL
Georgia Marie A. Fiorentino Webb Bridge Middle School; Alpharetta, GA
Hawaii Alyson J. Fink James B. Castle High School; Kaneohe, HI
Indiana James P. Kendall Booker T. Washington Alternative High School; Terre Haute, IN
Iowa Noah M. Lawrence Lamoni Community School; Lamoni, IA
Kansas Curtis R. White Indian Woods Middle School; Overland Park, KS
Kentucky Jon K. Mansfield Montgomery County High School; Mt. Sterling, KY
Maryland Daniel J. Gallagher3 Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School; Bethesda, MD
Maryland Jaime L. Thompson Windsor Knolls Middle School; Ijamsville, MD
Massachusetts Joshua C. Otlin Hudson High School; Hudson, MA
Minnesota Kathryn M. Shaughnessy Burnsville Senior High School; Burnsville, MN
Mississippi Ashley R. Pollock DeSoto County Alternative Center; Hernando, MS
Missouri Jill A. Villasana Jefferson Junior High School; Columbia, MO
Montana Bruce H. Guthrie Flathead High School; Kalispell, MT
Nebraska Kevin J. Rippe Lincoln East High School; Lincoln, NE
Nevada Milton M. Hyams Incline High School; Incline Village, NV
New Jersey Merideth L. Getsinger Union High School; Union, NJ
New Mexico Mary L. Romero New Mexico Boys School; Springer, NM
New York Robert L. Sandler Stuyvesant High School; New York, NY
North Dakota Stephanie L. Holland Tahoma High School; Kent, WA
Ohio Stacey L. McSkimin SuccessTech Academy; Cleveland, OH
Oklahoma James F. Caylor Southeast High School; Oklahoma City, OK
Oregon Joyce E. Garland Sheridan High School; Sheridan, OR
Pennsylvania Janet L. Ranheim Lincoln Academy; Bridgeport, PA
South Dakota Loretta L. Wellentin4 Rock Creek Grant School; Bullhead, SD
South Dakota Barnaby D. Cook Chester Area School; Chester, SD
Tennessee Linda M. Coslett Clinton Middle School; Clinton, TN
Texas Lisa L. Dishongh5 Alice Johnson Junior High School; Channelview, TX
Texas Philip L. Gensheimer Saint Thomas High School; Houston, TX
Utah Dawn L. Hauser Granite High School; Salt Lake City, UT
Vermont Elizabeth LeBrun Poultney High School; Poultney, VT
Virginia Eric V. Henderson Lake Braddock Secondary School; Burke, VA
Washington Kevin L. Workman Mead Senior High School; Spokane, WA
West Virginia Joseph J. Sisler Moorefield Middle School; Moorefield, WV
Wisconsin Christine E. Kadonsky Wausau West High School; Wausau, WI
Wyoming Aaron J. Hinton Centennial Junior High School; Casper, WY


Prospective Teachers (Junior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and undergraduate school

Alabama Julie C. Bryant Auburn University; Auburn, AL
Connecticut Jason Vanderburgh Boston College; Chestnut Hill, MA
District of Columbia Christina M. Imholt University of Chicago; Chicago, IL
Florida Emma L. Kiziah6 University of Florida; Gainesville, FL
Illinois Ryan E. Ervin Eastern Illinois University; Charleston, IL
Louisiana Julie E. Harris Loyola University New Orleans; New Orleans, LA
New Hampshire Christopher G. Ulrich University of Maryland-College Park; College Park, MD
New Jersey Felice Pagnotta7 Fairleigh Dickinson University; Teaneck, NJ
North Carolina Kellie A. Wilson North Carolina State University; Raleigh, NC
Northern Mariana Islands Natalie P. Hill Northern Marianas College; Saipan, MP
South Carolina Patrick L. Kelly University of South Carolina-Columbia; Columbia, SC

1 Ms. Hobbs' fellowship, the Henry Salvatori-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Henry Salvatori Foundation of Los Angeles, California.

2 Mr. Keibler's fellowship is funded by an anonymous donor.

3 Mr. Gallagher's fellowship is funded by the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation of Washington, D.C.

4 Ms. Wellentin's fellowship, "The Fellows' Fellowship," is funded by contributions from current and alumni James Madison Fellows.

5 Ms. Dishongh's fellowship is funded by the Rockwell Fund, Inc. of Houston, Texas.

6 Ms. Kiziah's fellowship, the J. Seward Johnson, Sr.-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Atlantic Foundation of Princeton, New Jersey.

7 Ms. Pagnotta's fellowship, the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr.-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr. Foundation Inc. of Roseland, New Jersey.