Archived Press Releases:
2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003

May 5, 2016, Press Release

James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation Announces 2016 Fellows

The James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation of Alexandria, VA announced today that it has selected 53 James Madison Fellows for 2016 in its twenty-fifth annual fellowship competition. James Madison Fellowships support the graduate study of American history by aspiring and experienced secondary school teachers of American history, American government, and social studies.

Named in honor of the fourth president of the United States and acknowledged "Father of the Constitution and Bill of Rights," a James Madison Fellowship funds up to $24,000 of each Fellow’s course of study towards a master’s degree. That program must include a concentration of courses on the history and principles of the United States Constitution.

The 53 James Madison Fellows were selected in competition with applicants from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the nation’s island and trust territories. The fellowships are funded by income from a trust fund in the Treasury of the United States and from additional private gifts, corporate contributions, and foundation grants. Recipients are required to teach American history or social studies in a secondary school for at least one year for each year of fellowship support. The award is intended to recognize promising and distinguished teachers, to strengthen their knowledge of the origins and development of American constitutional government, and thus to expose the nation’s secondary school students to accurate knowledge of the nation’s constitutional heritage.

Founded by an Act of Congress in 1986, the James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation is an independent agency of the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Additional information may be found at

2016 James Madison Fellows

Current Teachers (Senior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and secondary school where they teach

AKLeandra E. WildenWest Anchorage High School, Anchorage, AK
AROlivia W. LewisSheridan Junior High School, Sheridan, AR
CADerrick M. Saenz-Payne1Ceres High School, Ceres, CA
CAHannah ThomasRancho Christian High School, Temecula, CA
COElizabeth MilliganHigh Tech Early College, Denver, CO
CTTeresa M. LewisNaugatuck High School, Naugatuck, CT
FLGregory Balan2Varsity Lakes Middle School, Lehigh Acres, FL
FLAnne-Elizabeth R. Huff-HesterRiverdale High School, Fort Myers, FL
IAAlexander M. AbbeMarshalltown Senior High School, Marshalltown, IA
IAAdam J. Arthur3Abraham Lincoln High School, Des Moines, IA
IDRussell P. McCreaMeridian High School, Meridian, ID
ILDana L. Pavisich4KIPP Ascend Middle School, Chicago, IL
KSErica W. BensonBlue Valley North High School, Overland Park, KS
KYHoward L. MuncyJackson County High School, McKee, KY
LAJennifer G. TraweekCaddo Middle Magnet, Shreveport, LA
MABryan SheckmanLowell High School, Lowell, MA
MDJerome S. Bailey, II5Cristo Rey Jesuit High School, Baltimore, MD
MDPeter P. RamseyFrancis L. Cardozo High School, Washington, DC
MDAlison B. Russell6Montgomery Blair High School, Silver Spring, MD
MEJulie McCabeWestbrook High School, Westbrook, ME
MIWalter R. HansonEngadine High School, Engadine, MI
MNHoward W. Van Otterloo, Jr.Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton High School, Janesville, MN
MOZaven D. NalbandianParkway West High School, Ballwin, MO
MSGerald M. Nason, IIICenter Hill High School, Olive Branch, MS
MTM'Kenzie K. FrickelJoliet High School, Joliet, MT
NCKelli A. PetersGaston Day School, Gastonia, NC
NDBethany A. HorningCentury High School, Bismarck, ND
NENicholas R. KintzleMillard South High School, Omaha, NE
NHMichael R. DupontWilton-Lyndboro Cooprtv J/S HS, Wilton, NH
NJAndrew M. Van Der Hoof7Rutherford High School, Rutherford, NJ
NMSara LeGateCibola High School, Albuquerque, NM
NVKevin R. BarneyVeterans Tribute Career Academy, Las Vegas, NV
NYErica K. MartinChittenango Middle School, Chittenango, NY
OHJames S. LautzenheiserCrestview High School, Convoy, OH
OKNathaniel M. ThompsonMingo Valley Christian School, Tulsa, OK
ORKjerstin M. Spark-StahlLost River Junior Senior High School, Merrill, OR
PAMaureen S. RiegerPottstown Senior High School, Pottstown, PA
SCCharly M. AdkinsonGivhans Alternative Program, Ridgeville, SC
SDGeorge J. HawkinsNew Technology High School, Sioux Falls, SD
TNJohn F. AppleUpperman High School, Baxter, TN
TXLisa D. SmithCross Timbers Middle School, Grapevine, TX
UTBrittany J. SylvesterScott M. Matheson Jr. High School, Magna, UT
VAJennifer A. HitchcockFairfax High School, Fairfax, VA
VARoxanne H. Thompson8Pulaski County High School, Dublin, VA
WAKatie KlausWoodland High School, Woodland, WA
WIJessica L. WalworthWatertown High School, Watertown, WI
WYJason D. WilliamsSaratoga High School, Saratoga, WY


Prospective Teachers (Junior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and undergraduate school

ALAmanda C. ReadTroy University, Troy, AL
GAAnne K. RogeAuburn University, Auburn, GA
ILBrandon T. CeplechaLewis University, Romeoville, IL
INAlexander K. UrygaValparaiso University, Valparaiso, IN
NJEmily A. LakeSeton Hall University, South Orange, NJ
WVMary R. DunnRhodes College, Memphis, TN

1 Mr. Derrick M. Saenz-Payne’s fellowship, the Henry Salvatori-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Henry Salvatori Foundation.

2 Mr. Gregory Balan’s fellowship,the J. Seward Johnson, Jr.-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Atlantic Foundation of Princeton, New Jersey.

3 Mr. Adam J. Arthur’s fellowship, "The Fellows’ Fellowship," is funded in part by contributions from active and alumni James Madison Fellows.

4Ms. Dana L. Pavisich’s fellowship, the McCormick Foundation-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the McCormick Foundation of Chicago, Illinois.

5Mr. Jerome S. Bailey, II’s fellowship, the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation of Washington, DC.

6Alison B. Russell’s fellowship, the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation of Washington, DC.

7Mr. Andrew M. Van Der Hoof’s fellowship, the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr.-James Madison Fellowship is endowed by the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr. Foundation, Inc. of Roseland, New Jersey.

8Ms. Roxanne H. Thompson’s fellowship, the Harrison Foundation – James Madison Fellowship is funded by the Harrison Foundation of Manakin-Sabot, Virginia.