May 24, 2012, Press Release

James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation Announces 2012 Fellows

The James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation of Washington, D.C., announced today that it has selected 58 James Madison Fellows for 2012 in its twenty-first annual fellowship competition. James Madison Fellowships support the graduate study of American history by aspiring and experienced secondary school teachers of American history, American government, and social studies.

Named in honor of the fourth president of the United States and acknowledged “Father of the Constitution and Bill of Rights,” a James Madison Fellowship funds up to $24,000 of each Fellow’s course of study towards a master’s degree. That program must include a concentration of courses on the history and principles of the United States Constitution.

The 58 James Madison Fellows were selected in competition with applicants from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the nation’s island and trust territories. The fellowships are funded by income from a trust fund in the Treasury of the United States and from additional private gifts, corporate contributions, and foundation grants. Recipients are required to teach American history or social studies in a secondary school for at least one year for each year of fellowship support. The award is intended to recognize promising and distinguished teachers, to strengthen their knowledge of the origins and development of American constitutional government, and thus to expose the nation’s secondary school students to accurate knowledge of the nation’s constitutional heritage.

Founded by an Act of Congress in 1986, the James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation is an independent agency of the executive branch of the federal government. Additional information may be found at

2012 James Madison Fellows

Current Teachers (Senior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and secondary school where they teach

AZAllison M. FlukeRio Rico High School; Rio Rico, AZ
CAJuan F. ResendezIrvine High School; Irvine, CA
COWhitney BarnesLakewood Senior High School; Lakewood, CO
CTJennifer L. BritnerBerlin High School; Berlin, CT
DEJoseph F. GioffreSalesianum School; Wilmington, DE
FLPatricia C. Everett1Father Lopez High School; Daytona Beach, FL
FLStephen HansenWinter Park High School; Winter Park, FL
FLKari M. RamseyHarmony High School; Harmony, FL
GAJason E. ButlerDeKalb Early College Academy; Stone Mountain, GA
GAKevin P. RhoadsDominion Christian School; Marietta, GA
IDJoshua M. WarwickKimberly Middle School; Kimberly, ID
ILJeffrey Lobo2Zion-Benton Township High School; Zion, IL
INKyle J. DavisElkhart Memorial High School; Elkhart, IN
IAFranklin W. DeaCumberland Anita Messina High School; Anita, IA
KSRobert John OvsakEmporia Middle School; Emporia, KS
KYBrett Alan PritchettUniversity Heights Academy; Hopkinsville, KY
LAAlicia Nicole FergersonCentral Private School; Baker, LA
MEMartin Schmeisser BresslerSaint Dominic Regional High School; Auburn, ME
MDKimberly Cherie Moore3Gaithersburg High School; Gaithersburg, MD
MDKathryn Marie WathenWestlake High School; Waldorf, MD
MASteven Patrick MoynihanBarnstable High School; Hyannis, MA
MIAnthony Robert BreyGarber High School; Essexville, MI
MITricia KremkePotters House High School; Grand Rapids, MI
MNEric Colin Swiggum CameronMetro Heights Academy; Columbia Heights, MN
MNShannon Mary McLeanRoyalton High School; Royalton, MN
MSDeAnna Rose RoesslingBiloxi High School; Biloxi, MS
MOGregory Joseph BrennerAlta Vista Education Center; Kansas City, MO
MTBrad M. FaulhaberSidney High School; Sidney, MT
NETyler MaxonSacred Heart School; Lincoln, NE
NVKylie Irene MillerSpanish Springs High School; Sparks, NV
NHStephen Bernard VetackMilford High School; Milford, NH
NJAndrew Vernon4Woodbury High School; Woodbury, NJ
NJSamantha WesternLivingston High School; Livingston, NJ
NMDavid Robert ScroggsArrowhead Park Early College High School; Las Cruces, NM
NYMarc SkeltonFannie Lou Hamer Freedom High School; New York, NY
NCBrandi Layne PhilippsPamlico County High School; Bayboro, NC
OHJason MilczewskiRevere High School; Richfield, OH
OKDionne Nichelle LewisCentral Junior High School; Tulsa, OK
ORBrian Kenneth Scott JohnsonPendleton High School; Pendleton, OR
PAKatherine L. HageeWilson High School; West Lawn, PA
RIBryan-Keith J. NordanUrban Collaborative Accelerated Program; Providence, RI
SCMark D. WelchWalhalla Senior High School; Walhalla, SC
TNMark Harold BruntonSaint Andrew's-Sewanee School; Sewanee, TN
TXMaureen Mary GrayTaylor High School; Taylor, TX
TXJennifer Stewart VenableWaxahachie High School; Waxahachie, TX
UTCody L. NesbitAlta High School; Sandy, UT
VACynthia BurgettRachel Carson Middle School; Herndon, VA
WABrock AndersonWahluke High School; Mattawa, WA
WVDerek HughesWashington High School; Charles Town, WV
WIJames Edward HustonBloomer Senior High School; Bloomer, WI
WYBrent Michael JurgensenNatrona County High School; Casper, WY


Prospective Teachers (Junior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and undergraduate school

AKNathan W. WaltersUniversity of Minnesota, Twin Cities; Minneapolis, MN
ALMelissa K. McDonoughUniversity of Alabama; Tuscaloosa, AL
ARRebecca A. SchaefferHenderson State University; Arkadelphia, AR
CAAlyse Romero5California State University; San Bernardino, CA
CAKate A. StephensenNorthwestern University; Evanston, IL
ILLaura KoroskiConnecticut College; New London, CT
MOMichael W. Stevenson6University of Iowa; Iowa City, IA

1 Ms. Patricia C. Everett’s fellowship, the J. Seward Johnson, Sr.-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Atlantic Foundation of Princeton, New Jersey.

2 Mr. Jeffrey Lobo’s fellowship, the McCormick Foundation-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the Robert McCormick Foundation of Chicago, Illinois.

3 Ms. Kimberly C. Moore’s fellowship, the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation of Washington, D.C.

4 Mr. Andrew Vernon’s fellowship, the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr.-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr. Foundation, Inc., of Delray Beach, Florida.

5 Ms. Alyse Romero’s fellowship, the Henry Salvatori-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Henry Salvatori Foundation.

6 Mr. Michael W. Stevenson’s fellowship, “The Fellows’ Fellowship,” is funded in part by contributions from current and alumni James Madison Fellows.