May 23, 2008, Press Release

James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation Announces 2008 Fellows

The James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation of Washington, D.C., announced today that it has selected 58 James Madison Fellows for the year 2008 in its seventeenth annual fellowship competition. James Madison Fellowships support the graduate study of American history by aspiring and experienced secondary school teachers of American history, American government, and social studies.

Named in honor of the fourth president of the United States and acknowledged "Father of the Constitution and Bill of Rights," a James Madison Fellowship funds up to $24,000 of each Fellow's course of study towards a master's degree. That program must include a concentration of courses on the history and principles of the United States Constitution.

The 58 James Madison Fellows were selected in competition with applicants from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the nation's island and trust territories. The fellowships are funded by income from a trust fund in the Treasury of the United States and from additional private gifts, corporate contributions, and foundation grants. Recipients are required to teach American history or social studies in a secondary school for at least one year for each year of fellowship support. The award is intended to recognize promising and distinguished teachers, to strengthen their knowledge of the origins and development of American constitutional government, and thus to expose the nation's secondary school students to accurate knowledge of the nation's constitutional heritage.

Founded by an Act of Congress in 1986, the James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation is an independent establishment of the executive branch of the federal government. Additional information may be found at

2008 James Madison Fellows

Current Teachers (Senior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and secondary school where they teach

AlaskaTimothy C. ChristophersonEast Anchorage High School, Anchorage, AK
ArizonaTiffany D. FraneBasha High School, Chandler, AZ
ArkansasAmber D. HodgesRussellville High School, Russellville, AR
CaliforniaCatherine M. Alderman1Anderson New Technology High School, Anderson, CA
CaliforniaSusan M. PiekarskiIrvington High School, Fremont, CA
CaliforniaJeffrey M. Sprague2Holy Names High School, Oakland, CA
ConnecticutSarah A. LawrenceHall High School, West Hartford, CT
DelawareWilliam J. McGowan, IIISalesianum School, Wilmington, DE
FloridaMary Z. AngeloFalcon Cove Middle School, Weston, FL
GeorgiaZebulun D. ThomasMount Paran Christian School, Kennesaw, GA
IdahoTheresa H. SilvesterBuhl Middle School, Buhl, ID
IllinoisErica Bray-Parker3Glenbard North High School, Carol Stream, IL
IllinoisRobert S. TaylorJohn F. Kennedy Catholic High School, Manchester, MO
IndianaMichael G. GordonMunster High School, Munster, IN
IowaMelanie A. ClarkWest Liberty High School, West Liberty, IA
KansasMichael L. WilmothWellington Senior High School, Wellington, KS
KentuckyVanessa R. LierleyEast Oldham Middle School, Crestwood, KY
LouisianaEmmitt Glynn, IIIEpiscopal High School, Baton Rouge, LA
MarylandShawn F. DoughertyBishop McNamara High School, Forestville, MD
MarylandBrandy A. Reazer4McKenney Hills Center Alternative Programs, Silver Spring, MD
MassachusettsMatthew F. OostingNorth Reading High School, North Reading, MA
MichiganBrevet L. BartelsWest Ottawa High School-North Campus, Holland, MI
MinnesotaShane A. BakerCentury High School, Rochester, MN
MississippiDavid J. PinnowLewisburg Middle/High School, Olive Branch, MS
NebraskaCory J. VasekMary Our Queen School, Omaha, NE
NevadaSarah L. BothunSpanish Springs High School, Sparks, NV
New HampshireRyan N. RichmanTimberlane Regional High School, Plaistow, NH
New JerseyBrian F. BoyceManalapan High School, Englishtown, NJ
New JerseyMarc A. Lifland5South Brunswick High School, Monmouth Junction, NJ
New MexicoKaren D. Cox6Atrisco Heritage Academy High School, Albuquerque, NM
New MexicoCurtis P. CraneMountain View Middle School, Alamogordo, NM
North DakotaElliot G. RotvoldHillsboro High School, Hillsboro, ND
OhioKimberly J. Huffman7Wayne County Joint Vocational School District, Smithville, OH
OhioEric W. DameronHilliard City Schools, Hilliard, OH
OklahomaAngela A. Dormiani8Oklahoma City Public School District, Oklahoma City, OK
OklahomaStephanie D. LowryDurant Senior High School, Durant, OK
OregonMarc J. BrewerClatskanie High School, Clatskanie, OR
PennsylvaniaMaria R. SaviniUpper Merion Area High School, King of Prussia, PA
Rhode IslandMaureen E. McGuirlJamestown Public Middle School, Jamestown, RI
South CarolinaRay F. HawkinsWoodland High School, Dorchester, SC
South DakotaSuzanne E. Moum-NelsonStevens High School, Rapid City, SD
TennesseeJames H. Thames Jr.Central High School, Memphis, TN
TexasCari L. GrayNew Braunfels Senior High School, New Braunfels, TX
TexasSarah A. Kasparian9Lakeview Centennial High School, Garland, TX
UtahRobert J. StoddardMountain View High School, Orem, UT
VermontJennifer M. KellyGunston Middle School, Arlington, VA
VirginiaKenneth A. MasonCentral High School, Woodstock, VA
WashingtonMonty R. JohnsonSunnyside Senior High School, Sunnyside, WA
WyomingSharolyn S. GriffithSwift Creek Learning Center, Afton, WY


Prospective Teachers (Junior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and undergraduate school

AlabamaSabrina D. DyckUniversity of Montevallo, Montevallo, AL
CaliforniaFaith Reynado10University of California, Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
ColoradoElisha N. RobertsOccidental College-Los Angeles, Los Angeles, CA
FloridaHannah D. Markwardt11University of South Carolina-Columbia, Columbia, SC
MaineMolly B. FeeneyUniversity of Maine, Orono, ME
MissouriSarah A. HoffWilliam Jewell College, Liberty, MO
New YorkNicole Brooks-DonolliMarist College, Poughkeepsie, NY
North CarolinaJennifer M. BiserUniversity of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC
WisconsinPatrick G. MorganVassar College-Poughkeepsie, Poughkeepsie, NY

1   Ms. Alderman's fellowship, the Henry Salvatori-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Henry Salvatori Foundation.

2   Mr. Sprague's fellowship is funded by an anonymous donor.

3   Ms. Bray-Parker's fellowship, the McCormick Freedom Museum-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the McCormick Freedom Museum of Chicago, Illinois.

4   Ms. Reazer's fellowship, the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation of Washington, D.C.

5   Mr. Lifland's fellowship, the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr.-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr. Foundation, Inc. of Roseland, New Jersey.

6   Ms. Cox's fellowship, the Hatton W. Sumners-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the Hatton W. Sumners Foundation of Dallas, Texas.

7    Ms. Huffman's fellowship, "The Fellows' Fellowship," is funded in part by contributions from current and alumni James Madison Fellows.

8   Ms. Dormiani's fellowship, the Hatton W. Sumners-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the Hatton W. Sumners Foundation of Dallas, Texas.

9   Ms. Kasparian's fellowship, the Hatton W. Sumners-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the Hatton W. Sumners Foundation of Dallas, Texas.

10   Ms. Reynado's fellowship, the Henry Salvatori-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Henry Salvatori Foundation.

11   Ms. Markwardt, the J. Seward Johnson, Sr.-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Atlantic Foundation of Princeton, New Jersey.