May 15, 2007, Press Release

James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation Announces 2007 Fellows

The James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation of Washington, D.C., announced today that it has selected 57 James Madison Fellows for the year 2007 in its sixteenth annual fellowship competition. James Madison Fellowships support the graduate study of American history by aspiring and experienced secondary school teachers of American history, American government, and social studies.

Named in honor of the fourth president of the United States and acknowledged "Father of the Constitution and Bill of Rights," a James Madison Fellowship funds up to $24,000 of each Fellow's course of study towards a master's degree. That program must include a concentration of courses on the history and principles of the United States Constitution.

The 57 James Madison Fellows were selected in competition with applicants from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the nation's island and trust territories. The fellowships are funded by income from a trust fund in the Treasury of the United States and from additional private gifts, corporate contributions, and foundation grants. Recipients are required to teach American history or social studies in a secondary school for at least one year for each year of fellowship support. The award is intended to recognize promising and distinguished teachers, to strengthen their knowledge of the origins and development of American constitutional government, and thus to expose the nation's secondary school students to accurate knowledge of the nation's constitutional heritage.

Founded by an Act of Congress in 1986, the James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation is an independent establishment of the executive branch of the federal government. Additional information may be found at

2007 James Madison Fellows

Current Teachers (Senior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and secondary school where they teach

ArizonaNichole D. EvansMesquite Junior High School; Gilbert, AZ
ArkansasElizabeth H. FosheeJacksonville High School - PCSSD; Jacksonville, AR
CaliforniaDonald F. De Angelo1Cathedral Catholic High School; San Diego, CA
CaliforniaHeidi Stepp2Amador Valley High School; Pleasanton, CA
ColoradoBrian L. BohnertRalston Valley High School; Arvada, CO
DelawareChristopher P. JonesMiddletown High School; Middletown, DE
District of ColumbiaAmy TrenkleStuart-Hobson Middle School; Washington, DC
FloridaJoseph L. CofieldBonita Springs Middle School; Bonita Springs, FL
GeorgiaEmily JuckettWalton High School; Marietta, GA
HawaiiDavid E. HughesMaui High School; Kahului, HI
IdahoHolly KartchnerBlackfoot High School; Blackfoot, ID
IllinoisJohn M. TobiasAthens High School CUSD 213; Athens, IL
IllinoisPat Usher3Carl Sandburg High School; Orland Park, IL
IndianaElizabeth A. BaileyHamilton Southeastern High School; Fishers, IN
IowaJeremy R. YengerJohnston High School; Johnston, IA
KentuckySuzanne L. MossFloyd Central High School; Floyds Knobs, IN
LouisianaRobyn VerboisChristian Life Academy; Baton Rouge, LA
MarylandChristopher J. ForneyJohn T. Baker Middle School; Damascus, MD
MarylandSarah H. Poole4Arundel High School; Gambrills, MD
MassachusettsRebecca L. JohnsonMalden High School; Malden, MA
MichiganMatt SchmidtBay City Central High School; Bay City, MI
MinnesotaDenise NorthWrenshall High School; Wrenshall, MN
MississippiRobert M. WaltersLanier High School; Jackson, MS
MissouriJohn DekenHickman High School; Columbia, MO
MontanaChristina CoteGardiner Public School; Gardiner, MT
NebraskaJennifer S. Kennedy-SmithDouglas County West Community Schools; Valley, NE
NevadaJeffrey HintonSierra Vista High School; Las Vegas, NV
New JerseyDavid Reader5Camden Catholic High School; Cherry Hill, NJ
New MexicoRachael Button-Koenigsfeld6James Monroe Middle School; Albuquerque, NM
New MexicoJoel D. FouserDel Norte High School; Albuquerque, NM
New YorkMatthew E. TurnerBurnt Hills-Ballston Lake High School; Burnt Hills, NY
OhioRobert N. CurtisWestlake High School; Westlake, OH
OklahomaJennifer M. Reiter7Carver Middle School; Tulsa, OK
OregonErin M. NooyMcMinnville High School; McMinnville, OR
PennsylvaniaMatthew G. RoySun Valley High School; Aston, PA
Rhode IslandValerie M. FrezzaNorth Smithfield Jr-Sr High School; North Smithfield, RI
South CarolinaAnne KelseyHilton Head Middle School; Hilton Head Island, SC
TennesseeDeborah K. PuckettMadison Academic Magnet High School; Jackson, TN
TexasRebecca L. Lacquey8Katy High School; Katy, TX
TexasSandra J. ReedFaith West Academy; Katy, TX
UtahJenicee JacobsonRiverton High School; Riverton, UT
VermontCatherine M. ReenMilton Elementary School; Milton, VT
VirginiaJennifer A. BainThomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology; Alexandria, VA
WashingtonLeah D. MacKenzieThree Rivers Christian School; Kelso, WA
WisconsinJennifer L. MelvilleKaukauna High School; Kaukauna, WI
WisconsinBlanca S. Ramirez9Warren Township High School; Gurnee, IL
WyomingMeaghan C. GibsonLaramie Senior High School; Laramie, WY


Prospective Teachers (Junior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and undergraduate school

AlabamaRandall ReedTroy University; Troy, AL
CaliforniaTheodora E. ChangStanford University; Stanford, CA
ConnecticutSalman B. HamidAlbertus Magnus College; New Haven, CT
FloridaKelly L. Smith10The Florida State University; Tallahassee, FL
KansasJaneal D. SchmidtKansas State University; Manhattan, KS
New HampshireColby R. YoungUniversity of New Hampshire; Durham, NH
New JerseyMaya AfekRutgers University-New Brunswick; New Brunswick, NJ
North CarolinaEmily F. BagleyUniversity of North Carolina - Chapel Hill; Chapel Hill, NC
South DakotaHeather L. HubbelUniversity of Sioux Falls; Sioux Falls, SD
West VirginiaWilliam C. Schaffer Jr.University of Charleston; Charleston, WV

1Mr. DeAngelo's fellowship is funded by an anonymous donor.

2Ms. Stepp's fellowship, the Henry Salvatori-James Madison Fellowship is endowed by the Henry Salvatori Foundation.

3Mr. Usher's fellowship, the McCormick Tribune Freedom Museum-James Madison Fellowship is funded by the McCormick Tribune Freedom Museum of Chicago, Illinois.

4Ms. Poole's fellowship, the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation of Washington, D.C.

5Mr. Reader's fellowship, the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr.-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr. Foundation Inc. of Roseland, New Jersey.

6Ms. Button-Koenigsfeld's fellowship, The Hatton W. Sumners-James Madison Fellowship is funded by the Hatton W. Sumners Foundation of Dallas, Texas.

7Ms. Reiter's fellowship, The Hatton W. Sumners-James Madison Fellowship is funded by the Hatton W. Sumners Foundation of Dallas, Texas.

8Ms. Lacquey's fellowship, the Hatton W. Sumners-James Madison Fellowship, is funded by the Hatton W. Sumners Foundation of Dallas, Texas.

9Ms. Ramirez's fellowship, "The Fellows' Fellowship," is funded in part by contributions of current and alumni James Madison Fellows.

10Ms. Smith's fellowship, the J. Seward Johnson, Sr.-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Atlantic Foundation of Princeton, New Jersey.