May 12, 2004, Press Release

James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation Announces 2004 Fellows

The James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation of Washington, D.C., announced today that it has selected 54 James Madison Fellows for the year 2004 in its thirteenth annual fellowship competition. James Madison Fellowships support the graduate study of American history by aspiring and experienced secondary school teachers of American history, American government, and social studies.

Named in honor of the fourth president of the United States and acknowledged "Father of the Constitution and Bill of Rights," a James Madison Fellowship funds up to $24,000 of each Fellow's course of study towards a master's degree. That program must include a concentration of courses on the history and principles of the United States Constitution.

The 54 James Madison Fellows were selected in competition with applicants from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the nation's island and trust territories. The fellowships are funded by income from a trust fund in the Treasury of the United States and from additional private gifts, corporate contributions, and foundation grants. Recipients are required to teach American history or social studies in a secondary school for at least one year for each year of fellowship support. The award is intended to recognize promising and distinguished teachers, to strengthen their knowledge of the origins and development of American constitutional government, and thus to expose the nation's secondary school students to accurate knowledge of the nation's constitutional heritage.

Founded by an Act of Congress in 1986, the James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation is an independent establishment of the executive branch of the federal government. Additional information may be found at

2004 James Madison Fellows

Current Teachers (Senior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and secondary school where they teach

AlaskaAnthony R. JensenWasilla High School; Wasilla, AK
ArizonaEdward W. DennyTempe Preparatory Academy; Tempe, AZ
ArkansasBrandie K. BentonHot Springs High School; Hot Springs, AR
CaliforniaShannon D. Hobbs1Bernardo Heights Middle School; San Diego, CA
CaliforniaKristopher W. Kiebler2Long Beach Renaissance High School for the Arts; Long Beach, CA
CaliforniaStacy E. SalzTorrey Pines High School; Encinitas, CA
ColoradoJeffery R. AppelhansWilliam J. Palmer High School; Colorado Springs, CO
FloridaRegina F. StuckHomestead Middle School; Homestead, FL
GeorgiaMarie A. FiorentinoWebb Bridge Middle School; Alpharetta, GA
HawaiiAlyson J. FinkJames B. Castle High School; Kaneohe, HI
IndianaJames P. KendallBooker T. Washington Alternative High School; Terre Haute, IN
IowaNoah M. LawrenceLamoni Community School; Lamoni, IA
KansasCurtis R. WhiteIndian Woods Middle School; Overland Park, KS
KentuckyJon K. MansfieldMontgomery County High School; Mt. Sterling, KY
MarylandDaniel J. Gallagher3Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School; Bethesda, MD
MarylandJaime L. ThompsonWindsor Knolls Middle School; Ijamsville, MD
MassachusettsJoshua C. OtlinHudson High School; Hudson, MA
MinnesotaKathryn M. ShaughnessyBurnsville Senior High School; Burnsville, MN
MississippiAshley R. PollockDeSoto County Alternative Center; Hernando, MS
MissouriJill A. VillasanaJefferson Junior High School; Columbia, MO
MontanaBruce H. GuthrieFlathead High School; Kalispell, MT
NebraskaKevin J. RippeLincoln East High School; Lincoln, NE
NevadaMilton M. HyamsIncline High School; Incline Village, NV
New JerseyMerideth L. GetsingerUnion High School; Union, NJ
New MexicoMary L. RomeroNew Mexico Boys School; Springer, NM
New YorkRobert L. SandlerStuyvesant High School; New York, NY
North DakotaStephanie L. HollandTahoma High School; Kent, WA
OhioStacey L. McSkiminSuccessTech Academy; Cleveland, OH
OklahomaJames F. CaylorSoutheast High School; Oklahoma City, OK
OregonJoyce E. GarlandSheridan High School; Sheridan, OR
PennsylvaniaJanet L. RanheimLincoln Academy; Bridgeport, PA
South DakotaLoretta L. Wellentin4Rock Creek Grant School; Bullhead, SD
South DakotaBarnaby D. CookChester Area School; Chester, SD
TennesseeLinda M. CoslettClinton Middle School; Clinton, TN
TexasLisa L. Dishongh5Alice Johnson Junior High School; Channelview, TX
TexasPhilip L. GensheimerSaint Thomas High School; Houston, TX
UtahDawn L. HauserGranite High School; Salt Lake City, UT
VermontElizabeth LeBrunPoultney High School; Poultney, VT
VirginiaEric V. HendersonLake Braddock Secondary School; Burke, VA
WashingtonKevin L. WorkmanMead Senior High School; Spokane, WA
West VirginiaJoseph J. SislerMoorefield Middle School; Moorefield, WV
WisconsinChristine E. KadonskyWausau West High School; Wausau, WI
WyomingAaron J. HintonCentennial Junior High School; Casper, WY


Prospective Teachers (Junior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and undergraduate school

AlabamaJulie C. BryantAuburn University; Auburn, AL
ConnecticutJason VanderburghBoston College; Chestnut Hill, MA
District of ColumbiaChristina M. ImholtUniversity of Chicago; Chicago, IL
FloridaEmma L. Kiziah6University of Florida; Gainesville, FL
IllinoisRyan E. ErvinEastern Illinois University; Charleston, IL
LouisianaJulie E. HarrisLoyola University New Orleans; New Orleans, LA
New HampshireChristopher G. UlrichUniversity of Maryland-College Park; College Park, MD
New JerseyFelice Pagnotta7Fairleigh Dickinson University; Teaneck, NJ
North CarolinaKellie A. WilsonNorth Carolina State University; Raleigh, NC
Northern Mariana IslandsNatalie P. HillNorthern Marianas College; Saipan, MP
South CarolinaPatrick L. KellyUniversity of South Carolina-Columbia; Columbia, SC

1 Ms. Hobbs' fellowship, the Henry Salvatori-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Henry Salvatori Foundation of Los Angeles, California.

2 Mr. Keibler's fellowship is funded by an anonymous donor.

3 Mr. Gallagher's fellowship is funded by the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation of Washington, D.C.

4 Ms. Wellentin's fellowship, "The Fellows' Fellowship," is funded by contributions from current and alumni James Madison Fellows.

5 Ms. Dishongh's fellowship is funded by the Rockwell Fund, Inc. of Houston, Texas.

6 Ms. Kiziah's fellowship, the J. Seward Johnson, Sr.-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Atlantic Foundation of Princeton, New Jersey.

7 Ms. Pagnotta's fellowship, the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr.-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr. Foundation Inc. of Roseland, New Jersey.