May 21, 2003, Press Release

James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation Announces 2003 Fellows

The James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation of Washington, D.C., announced today that it has selected 56 James Madison Fellows for the year 2003 in its twelfth annual fellowship competition. James Madison Fellowships support the graduate study of American history by aspiring and experienced secondary school teachers of American history, American government, and social studies.

Named in honor of the fourth president of the United States and acknowledged "Father of the Constitution and Bill of Rights," a James Madison Fellowship funds up to $24,000 of each Fellow's course of study toward a master's degree. That program must include a concentration of courses on the history and principles of the United States Constitution.

The 56 James Madison Fellows were selected in competition with applicants from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the nation's island and trust territories. The fellowships are funded by income from a trust fund in the Treasury of the United States and from additional private gifts, corporate contributions, and foundation grants. Recipients are required to teach American history or social studies in a secondary school for at least one year for each year of fellowship support. The award is intended to recognize promising and distinguished teachers, to strengthen their knowledge of the origins and development of American constitutional government, and thus to expose the nation's secondary school students to accurate knowledge of the nation's constitutional heritage.

Founded by Act of Congress in 1986, the James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation is an independent establishment of the executive branch of the federal government. Additional information may be found at

2003 James Madison Fellows

Current Teachers (Senior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and secondary school where they teach

AlabamaBen D. SciaccaRestoration Academy; Fairfield, AL
AlaskaJennifer L. FarisBartlett High School; Anchorage, AK
ArizonaMichael B. SuchowierskiKingman Academy of Learning; Kingman, AZ
CaliforniaMark D. Allendorf 1Jordan Middle School; Palo Alto, CA
CaliforniaZachary A. CrowellTurlock High School; Turlock, CA
CaliforniaRichard A. Vanden Bosch 2Hickman Middle School; Hickman, CA
ColoradoRobert J. WarmackClear Creek High School; Evergreen, CO
ConnecticutNora M. MocarskiWamogo Regional High School; Litchfield, CT
FloridaMichelle L. HoffmanTampa Catholic High School; Tampa, FL
FloridaRonald J. Miller 3Jewett Academy; Winter Haven, FL
GeorgiaDaniel C. ByrdNorthgate High School; Newnan, GA
HawaiiRachel H. LauPunahou School; Honolulu, HI
IdahoKaren L. CoughenourCoeur d'Alene Charter Academy; Coeur d'Alene, ID
IowaDaniel E. KellyValley Southwoods Freshman High School; West Des Moines, IA
KansasScott D. HarderGoddard Senior High School; Goddard, KS
KentuckyRebecca G. WilliamsBryan Station Senior High School; Lexington, KY
LouisianaPatricia S. ArceneauxOur Lady of Divine Providence School; Metairie, LA
MaineStephanie A. DoaneDeering High School; Portland, ME
MarylandStephen M. MillerWalter Johnson High School; Bethesda, MD
MarylandKarl E. Sanzenbacher 4Roland Park Elementary/Middle School; Baltimore, MD
MichiganConnie L. BesonCentral High School; Bay City, MI
MinnesotaMarcie R. GreenwaldtDelano Senior High School; Delano, MN
MississippiJohn D. RoachSaint Andrew's Episcopal School; Ridgeland, MS
MissouriBradley D. GriffithMetro Academic & Classical Hs; Saint Louis, MO
NebraskaMark D. SmithMillard West High School; Omaha, NE
NevadaBrett A. BarrySpanish Springs High School; Sparks, NV
New JerseyChristy E. MarrellaRosa International Middle School; Cherry Hill, NJ
New MexicoIvy P. FarguhesonMenaul School; Albuquerque, NM
North DakotaBrian HamLa Moure High School; La Moure, ND
OhioHeather L. MerckensHuron High School; Huron, OH
PennsylvaniaLynne M. O'HaraGermantown Academy; Fort Washington, PA
South DakotaKaren J. KoupalRapid City Academy; Rapid City, SD
TennesseeKevin T. BrewerBig Sandy High School; Big Sandy, TN
TexasScott D. Crossno 5Pearland High School; Pearland, TX
TexasStephen M. Popp 6Plano Senior High School; Plano, TX
UtahKathleen M. TundermannRowland Hall-St Mark's School; Salt Lake City, UT
VermontThomas J. BohlerBellows Falls Union High School; Bellows Falls, VT
VirginiaEdward A. BoshaMeadowbrook High School; Richmond, VA
WashingtonAndrea Y. KozakHawkins Middle School; Belfair, WA
WisconsinMarc C. LundquistSouth Middle School; Eau Claire, WI


Prospective Teachers (Junior Fellows)
Listed by state of legal residence, name, and undergraduate school

ArkansasGeorge D. SchiefflerUniversity of the South; Sewanee, TN
DelawareVincent F. MonsenUniversity of Delaware; Newark, DE
District of ColumbiaTynika T. YoungSaint Peter's College; Jersey City, NJ
IllinoisKristen M. BensonGeorgetown University; Washington, DC
IndianaMichael E. SimmsIndiana University at Bloomington; Bloomington, IN
MassachusettsWhitney H. DavidsonGrinnell College; Grinnell, IA
MontanaRichard M. SternUniversity of California-Berkeley; Berkeley, CA
New JerseySarah A. Figlewski 7Wesleyan University; Middletown, CT
New YorkCaren B. LeeBrown University; Providence, RI
North CarolinaJohn M. MoseleyUniversity of North Carolina-Greensboro; Greensboro, NC
OregonKristin M. FerralesStanford University; Stanford, CA
Rhode IslandErik J. ChaputProvidence College; Providence, RI
South CarolinaCynthia J. WelbornErskine College; Due West, SC
TexasMelinda A. LemkeBucknell University; Lewisburg, PA
West VirginiaJoanna L. ReynoldsWest Virginia University; Morgantown, WV
WyomingChase L. AnfinsonUniversity of Wyoming; Laramie, WY

1 Mr. Allendorf's fellowship, "The Fellows' Fellowship," is funded by contributions from current and alumni James Madison Fellows.

2 Mr. Vanden Bosch's fellowship, the Henry Salvatori-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Henry Salvatori Foundation of Los Angeles, California.

3 Mr. Miller's fellowship, the J. Seward Johnson, Sr.-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Atlantic Foundation of Princeton, New Jersey.

4 Mr. Sanzenbacher's fellowship is funded by the J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation of Washington, D.C.

5 Mr. Crossno's fellowship is funded by the Hatton W. Sumners Foundation of Dallas, Texas.

6 Mr. Popp's fellowship is funded by the Rockwell Fund, Inc., of Houston, Texas.

7 Ms. Figlewski's fellowship, the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr.-James Madison Fellowship, is endowed by the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr. Foundation, Inc., of Roseland, New Jersey.